Middle School

At UNIS, we believe Middle School students are at a unique time in their lives – a time when they are seeking greater independence and exploring their identity. Focused on facilitating a meaningful transition to adolescence and addressing the ever changing, complex needs of the middle level learner, we are committed to providing learning experiences relevant to the lives of adolescents. Through a safe, nurturing learning environment supported by caring teams of teachers, our program provides each student with opportunities to explore, inquire, and develop confidence. Our academic program strives to equip students with with the skills, knowledge, and understanding necessary for the 21st century. Academic subjects are balanced with classes in the art, music, physical education, health, and modern languages.

We believe the effective needs of the middle level learner must be addressed to achieve academic success and personal growth. Our advisory program is designed to address the developmental needs of our students, foster relationships and shape community, and provide an adult advocate for every student. Our annual camps program enables students and teachers to create enduring memories and friendships through physical, intellectual, and emotional challenges. Our students participate in many community service and service learning projects striving to create ‘a better world.’

"...our program provides each student with opportunities to explore, inquire, and develop confidence."

Middle School Principal
Chad Fairey
212-584-3013
cfairey@unis.org

Assistant Principal
Elaine Kelly
212-584-3012
ekelly@unis.org

Attendance
Phyllis Murray
212 584 3012
pmurray@unis.org

Guidance Counselors
Elizabeth Sheridan
esheridan@unis.org

Jared Smith
jsmith@unis.org

Demmy Lukas
dlukas@unis.org

Powered by Finalsite