Student Support Services

SST Mission

To foster and support an environment where students of differing abilities and needs can feel safe and achieve success at UNIS.

● Tiered and supportive approach: aspires to remove barriers and increase accessibility to learning.
● Achieved through intervention, consultation, collaboration with students, parents, teachers, administrators, and outside providers
● Provide proactive and preventative consultation, and program development
● Offer short/long-term interventions to remediate academic/learning/behavioral/social emotional issues
● Referrals to outside providers when additional support is relevant

Junior School

Psychologist: Dr. Dana Marnin, 212-584-3151, dmarnin@unis.org 

Counselors:
Alyssa Frost (J2/J4), 212-584-3096, afrost@unis.org

Amy Iamundo (J1/J3 ), 212-584-3005, aiamundo@unis.org 

Learning Specialists:
Alexis Michalos (Literacy), 212-584-7400, amichalos@unis.org

Karen Ager (Literacy), 212-584-7400, kager@unis.org

Samantha Mosher (Mathematics), 212-584-3017, smosher@unis.org

Middle School

Psychologist: Dr. Rachel Matoto, 212-584-3015, rmatoto@unis.org

Counselors:
Elizabeth Sheridan (M1/M2), 212-584-3130, esheridan@unis.org

Jared Smith (M3/M4),
212-584-3079,  jsmith@unis.org

Demmy Lukas (New Students), 212-584-3011, dlukas@unis.org

Learning Specialists:
Ixchell Tolentino, itolentino@unis.org

Julie Banfer (Mathematics), jbanfer@unis.org

Tutorial House

Psychologist: Dr. Amy Horowitz, 212-584-3092, ahorowitz@unis.org

Counselors: 
Dennis Lacey (T1/T3), 212-684-7400 Ext: 3003, dlacey@unis.org 

Vanessa Vitello (T2/T4), 212-584-3132, vvitello@unis.org

Learning Specialists:
Andrea McClean (Literacy) - info TBD

Neda Esfan (Math/Science), 212-584-3028, nesfan@unis.org

Helpful links/resources: 

FAQs

Who do I contact if I have concerns about my child’s success at UNIS?

● First level of support for academic/social/emotional concerns → contact your child’s teacher or counselor
● Clinical concerns and questions → contact divisional psychologist
● Issues with physical safety between other children→ contact your child’s teacher and/or divisional Assistant Principal

When/how are these services offered? Are there differences between divisions?

Junior School:
● Pull-out (literacy LS, or DOE mandated speech therapy)
● Push-in (math LS, or DOE mandated speech)
● Short-term counseling (pull-out) as needed, not during MESH subjects

Middle School:
● Pull out (literacy and math LS), Push-in when consultation from learning support
● Counseling can be at lunch, breaks or community time
● DOE mandated services are provided after school

Tutorial House:
● LS is scheduled class- No class time missed and provided in separate location
● Counseling provided during lunch, breaks, directly after school
*All divisions provide whole grade counseling lessons- push-in lessons

ELL