Cultural

 

Cultural

  • Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Student Union
  • Black Student Union
  • Japanese Cultural Club
  • Jewish Student Union (JSU)
  • Junior United Nations of Calligraphy (JUNOC)
  • Spirituality Club

Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Student Union

Advisor:  Vera Tatel (vtatel@unis.org) and Joey Braccino (jbraccino@unis.org)

Mission Statement:  The AAPI Student Union is a student-led organization that strives to create a safe and open space for students who identify with the AAPI community and educate students about AAPI history, culture, and discrimination through collaborating with the UNIS community to increase AAPI representation and awareness.

Black Student Union

Advisor:  Valerie Powell (vpowell@unis.org)

Mission Statement: As the United Nations International School’s Black Student Union, we are dedicated to providing a safe, open, and educational space for Black students. We strive to nurture and uplift UNIS’ Black students, and inform all UNIS students of the most productive methods of practicing allyship for Black people.

Japanese Cultural Club

Advisor: Masahiro Tanaka (mtanaka@unis.org)

Mission Statement: To spread Japanese culture for everyone to enjoy.

Jewish Student Union (JSU)

Advisor:  Barry Kirschenbaum (bkirschenbaum@unis.org)

Mission Statement:  The Jewish Student Union looks to provide a comfortable and safe place for Jewish and non Jewish students to discuss traditions, religion, and everything in between. We hope to achieve meaningful and interesting conversations that encompass all aspects of Judaism and beyond. We plan to discuss gender, holidays, history, relations with other religions, class, current events, persecution, hierarchies, traditions, stereotypes, and anything else members wish to discuss. The JSU will foster a strong community for Jews and anyone else who is interested in religion, specifically Judaism.

Junior United Nations of Calligraphy (JUNOC)

Advisor:  Qing Sun (qsun@unis.org)

Mission Statement:  Junior United Nations of Calligraphy (JUNOC), a student committee at UNIS, aims to build a bridge of mutual appreciation and cross-cultural understanding. The committee meets weekly to plan activities and events that will allow us to spread the art and cultural significance of calligraphy. JUNOC is dedicated to contributing to cultural diversity, artistic exchange, and cross-cultural friendship for the UNIS community.

Spirituality Club

There are no resources or collections to display

Advisor:  TBD

Mission Statement:  Our mission statement as a club is that we are committed to making a happier UNIS student population that knows how to manage with their anxieties and stressors. In addition, we want them to learn how to be satisfied with their lives after graduation.

World Language Advocates (WLA)

Advisor:  

Mission Statement:  We are passionate about raising awareness about endangered languages, fundraise to help revitalize languages, and learn about specific endangered languages. Additionally, we learn about linguistic phenomena across languages, giving presentations to the UNIS community about how to respect linguistic differences in language (ie. pronouns, different dialects, etc).